Element: Earth

Sign: 1st decan of Taurus

Planet: Mercury

Tree of Life: Geburah

Light: financial hardship, struggle, material concerns, limitation, adversity

Shadow: failure, destruction

Lord of Material Trouble

The Five of Disks, also known as the Lord of Material Trouble, is a card that symbolizes the struggles and challenges associated with financial or material difficulties. This card paints a picture of what life looks like when we are faced with material hardship and financial instability. 


The Five of Disks serves as a reminder that material trouble is not a permanent state. It’s a phase that we all go through at some point in our lives. This card tells us to persevere through hardship, for it is through these struggles that we learn, grow, and become stronger.

Joe’s Divine Guidance - Five of Disks in a Tarot Reading



The Five of Disks in the upright position indicates a time of financial or material struggle. It suggests a period of hardship where you may feel stuck and unable to move forward. This card serves as a reminder to assess your situation carefully and to take action to improve your circumstances.

In its reversed form, the Five of Disks may indicate that you are beginning to move out of a period of financial or material hardship. It suggests a time of recovery and improvement, where you are beginning to find the will to move forward and make changes in your life. This card encourages you to keep pushing forward and to remain hopeful, as better times are ahead.

Mystical Symbolism - Five of Disks Thoth

Image of the Five of Disks in the Thoth tarot deck.

Five Large Disks: The five large disks in the background represent the material world and the physical aspects of life. They symbolize the challenges and obstacles we face in our material existence, particularly those related to financial or material security.


Inverted Pentagram: The inverted pentagram is a symbol of matter over spirit. It indicates a disruption in the natural flow of elements, with the energy being ruled by earth and fire, and spirit at the bottom. This symbol suggests a system that is not harmonious, leading to feelings of being blocked and constrained.

Five Tatwas: The five smaller disks arranged in the shape of an inverted pentagram represent the five tatwas or elements of reality. These are the elements that constitute human experience. The black egg is Akasha (spirit), the blue circle is Vayu (air), the red triangle is Tejas (fire), the silver crescent is Apas (water), and the yellow square is Prithvi (earth). These symbols indicate the elements that are at play in the situation represented by the card.

Tree of Life: Geburah and the Five of Disks

The Five of Disks is linked with Geburah on the Tree of Life. Geburah represents severity, judgment, and the necessary destructive forces that lead to transformation and change. In the context of the Five of Disks, this card embodies the challenges and hardships that can lead to growth and transformation.


By embracing the energy of Geburah and the Five of Disks, you are encouraged to face your challenges head-on and understand that these hardships are necessary for growth. This card serves as a reminder that through struggle and hardship, transformation and growth are possible.

Astrology Insights

The Five of Disks in the Thoth Tarot is associated with the first decan of Taurus, with Mercury ruling this decan. Taurus is an earth sign known for its practicality.